Quote of the Day 01/04/10 – Another

Mark Twain and Laurence Hutton at Hutton’s home in Onteora

“Imitation is the sincerest of flattery” – Charles Caleb Colton

“Trust yourself. Think for yourself. Act for yourself. Speak for yourself.  Be yourself. Imitation is suicide” –Marva Collins

I don’t know how many times I read these quotes over and over again. I tried to find meaning in them and obviously we can see relation between the quotes with reality (or specifically with design). After thinking too much I found another quote that for some reason made me feel better. Maybe because it sounds very wise.

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.”

What I learned is to be yourself. Find what you like in others work and imitate what they do to discover why you adore them. Take what you discovered and put it into your work but your way, not theirs. Learning and experiencing is a process in which we must go through.

