Photography on Diana Mini

I’m happy to say I bought myself a Diana Mini and I recently developed pictures that I took.

Diana Mini with Flash

I was and still excited to be holding on to my Diana Mini. It’s one of the most creative and useful camera I’ve seen. It’s simple to use if you read their manual and It’s a device that allows you to experiment. The quality of the pictures are true to what they say. It’s an old school camera that uses 35mm film and produces square pictures or portrait sized pictures. The pictures come out soft and dreamy and if you keep the setting to B (for long exposure) and you have shaky hands the picture will blur.

Here are some pictures that I took with my Diana Mini:

This picture was created by having two pictures on top of each other. I took a picture of my coconut purse on top of my desk in the construction room and then took another by moving the camera three inches away.

This is a picture of my friend at lunch. I love the colour of his sweater and I wondered how it was going to look like when its developed. I took a simple picture of him but kept the shutter setting at B (which means bulb and you can manually choose how long you want light to come in). I never took a picture with a Diana and I was willing to take a picture of anything in every way. The blurriness isn’t that bad I think.

Here’s another picture of my friend at lunch. She had bread stuck on the roof of her mouth so it was the perfect time to take a picture. I didn’t do anything special on the picture. I kept the focus distance as 0.6m away, shutter setting on N (normal) mode and kept the aperture as sunny.

This picture was achieved with long exposure time. Keep the setting on B and held down the shutter switch for 6 secs and then released it which created a lighter picture.

Here are a couple of my friends playing cards. I created this picture by overlapping pictures. To overlap pictures you take a picture and then turn the advance wheel at the top of the camera half way and then take another picture. This can create a “panorama” picture and you can recognize an overlapped picture by the vertical line dividing the two pictures.

I had a lot of fun with this camera and I hope many others can try out a lomography camera for photography beginners.

