Chanel Mobile Art Pavilion

Two of my favourite people from the fashion and architectural industry united about four years ago to create the Chanel Mobile Art Pavilion. Karl Lagerfeld wanted to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Chanel 2.55 handbag. He wanted to celebrate it with an event such as a fashion house, but what would of made the event better was if the exhibit could move. Karl wouldn’t want anyone else to design this event other than Zaha Hadid. He knew her early on and found drawings of her early work which he called genius. He knew that the building was going to be expensive but didn’t want anyone else doing the job.  The mobile exhibit would start at 2006 until 2010. So far it has traveled from Hong Kong to Tokyo to New York. I was so excited when I heard about this. The photo above, for some reason, makes me really happy. I think I  already missed my chance to view the exhibit but one day I will see one of their work together.

The exterior of the building

